Nine’s Journalism Honoured

Nines’s Journalism Honoured At 2022 Walkley Awards

Nine’s mastheads and television news programming including The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, The Australian Financial Review, 60 Minutes, 9News, Today Show and A Current Affair have been honoured at the prestigious 2022 Walkley Awards.

Among those featuring in the awards was Marist Brothers Rosalie Old Boy Peter Fegan. Peter is an outstanding News journalist and has featured in these and other awards previously.
Nine’s diverse journalism was recognised during the 66th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism, collecting nine awards across its publishing and television divisions, in yet another big year in news.

Kate McClymont from The Sydney Morning Herald/The Age won the Print/Text News Report category for her outstanding investigation into the disappearance of Melissa Caddick, while Christine Ahern’s moving reports on the COVID-19 crisis at the Epping Gardens Aged Care home for the Today show and A Current Affair earned her a win in the Television/Video Current Affairs Short category.

Investigative journalists Nick McKenzie and Joel Tozer each picked up two Walkleys in the Television Current Affairs Long and Investigative Journalism categories for their stories ‘Nazis Next Door’ that ran across The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and 60 Minutes.
In the Television/Video News Reporting category, 9News journalists Peter Fegan and Rebeka Powell were also honoured for their investigative reporting, awarded a Walkley for their stories on Andrew Laming.

Duska Sulicich from The Age was awarded a Walkley for Headline, Caption or Hook, while The Australian Financial Review’s critically acclaimed podcast The Sure Thing saw Angus Grigg and Lap Phan win the Radio/Audio Feature category.

The Sydney Morning Herald’s Brook Mitchell was awarded a Walkley in News Photography for his dramatic pictures of an anti-lockdown protest in Sydney, while Dean Sewell took out the Feature/Photographic Essay Walkley for his ‘Of Mice and Men’ feature in The Sun Herald.
Fellow Herald photographer Kate Geraghty won the Nikon Photo of the Year for her image “Fighting COVID-19 Delta”.

In a poignant moment during the ceremony, the award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism went to former 60 Minutes reporter George Negus.

Nine’s full list of winners of the 2022 Walkley Awards:

  • Television/Video News Reporting – Peter Fegan and Rebeka Powell (9News 6pm)
  • Print/Text: News Report – Kate McClymont (The Sydney Morning Herald/The Age)
  • Headline, Caption or Hook – Duska Sulicich (The Age)
  • Radio/Audio Feature – Angus Grigg and Lap Phan (The Australian Financial Review)
  • News Photography – Brook Mitchell (The Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Feature/Photographic Essay – Dean Sewell (The Sun Herald)
  • Television/Video: Current Affairs Short – Christine Ahern (Today Show/A Current Affair)
  • Television/Video: Current Affairs Long – Nick McKenzie and Joel Tozer (60 Minutes)
  • Investigative Journalism – Nick McKenzie and Joel Tozer (The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and 60 Minutes)
  • Nikon Photo of the Year – Kate Geraghty (The Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Journalism – George Negus (60 Minutes/Foreign Correspondent)